Directory

Researchers please fill out and submit this form if you’d like to be included in the NYMSC directory.

Directory Submission Form

By Name

Samir Ahmed – City College of New York – ahmed@ccny.cuny.edu

Matthew Bahamonde – Farmingdale State College – matthew.bahamonde@farmingdale.edu

Stephen J. Beck – Nassau Community College – becks@ncc.edu 

Judi Blatt-Nichols – NYU School of Medicine – jbn240@nyu.edu
Expertise: Aquatic toxicology, environmental health and contaminants

Mark Botton – Fordham University – botton@fordham.edu

Brett F. Branco – Brooklyn College – Bbranco@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Expertise: Physical and biogeochemical dynamics in shallow marine systems Web site

Brian Brigham – Queens College – bbrigham@gc.cuny.edu
Expertise: Biogeochemistry, greenhouse gas flux, ecology in wetland systems

Russel L. Burke – Hofstra University – Russell.L.Burke@hofstra.edu

Frank R. Cantelmo – St. John’s University – cantelmf@stjohns.edu
Expertise: Biology of hard clam populations, sustainability of marine resources, tidal wetland ecology Website

Lucia Cepriano – Farmingdale State College – lucia.cepriano@farmingdale.edu

James M. Cervino – Pace University – jcervino@pace.edu

Katherine Chapman – Kingsborough Community College – kreinhard@kingsborough.edu

Zhongqi (Joshua) Cheng – Brooklyn College – zcheng@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Beth Christensen – Adelphi University – christensen@adelphi.edu

David Conover – Stony Brook University

Marie de Angelis – SUNY Maritime – mdeangelis@sunymaritime.edu
Expertise: Reduced trace gases in seawater; methane biogeochemistry; nutrients

Ratan Kumar Dhar – York College of CUNY, Earth and Physical Sciences – rdhar@york.cuny.edu
Expertise: Hydrology, biogechemistry, analytical chemistry, environmental science

James K. Dooley – Adelphi University, Department of Biology – dooley@adelphi.edu
Expertise: Marine fisheries, marine ecology

Matt Draud – Long Island University – mdraud@liu.edu

Jan Factor – Purchase College – jan.factor@purchase.edu

Sean A. Fanelli – Nassau Community College – fanellis@ncc.edu

Kevin Farley – Manhattan College – kevin.farley@manhattan.edu

Frank Fazio – Iona College – ffazio@iona.edu

Melvin Gorelick – Queensborough Community College – MGorelick@qcc.cuny.edu

David Gruber – Baruch College
Expertise: Marine microbial ecology, coral reef biology, evolution of fluorescent proteins, biogeochemistry Web site

Matthew Hare – Cornell University, Department of Natural Resources – mph75@cornell.edu
Expertise: population genetics and marine population structure, hatchery-based population management, larval dispersal Website

Barbara Hillery – SUNY College at Old Westbury – hilleryb@oldwestbury.edu

Robert W. Howarth – Cornell University – rwh2@cornell.edu

Michael L. Judge – Manhattan College – michael.judge@manhattan.edu
Expertise: Physiological ecology of mollusks, hydrodynamics, life histories of crabs, invasion biology Website

David Klarberg – Queensborough Community college – dklarberg@qcc.cuny.edu

Arthur H. Kopelman – Coastal Research & Education Society of Long Island (CRESLI) – president@cresli.org
Expertise: Marine mammal ecology Website

George Kraemer – Purchase College – george.kraemer@purchase.edu

Maureen Krause – Hofstra University – biomkk@hofstra.edu
Expertise: molecular genetic and biochemical mechanisms of metabolic and immune defense variation in marine bivalves

John F. Marra – Brooklyn College – JFM7780@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Expertise: Biogeochemistry, plankton/HAB, marine and environmental policy

Wendy McFarlane – Manhattanville College – mcfarlanew@mville.edu

Wade McGillis – Columbia University – wrm2102@columbia.edu

Fernando Nieto – SUNY College at Old Westbury – nietof@oldwestbury.edu

Kathy Olszewski – SUNY Maritime – kolszewski@sunymaritime.edu

Philip Orton – Columbia University – orton@ldeo.columbia.edu
Expertise: Air-sea interaction and gas exchange; estuary and coastal ocean physics; turbulent mixing; sediment transport Website

Nancy Penncavage – Suffolk Community College – penncan@sunysuffolk.edu

Michael Purdy – Columbia University – mpurdy@ldeo.columbia.edu

Richard Schlesinger – Pace University – rschlesinger@pace.edu

Stan Schlieffer – York College of CUNY – schleifer@york.cuny.edu

Joseph Stabile – Iona College – jstabile@iona.edu

Dale Stanley – Nassau Community College – Dale.Stanley@ncc.edu

Gillian Stewart – Queens College, CUNY – gstewart@qc.cuny.edu
Expertise: Marine biogeochemistry, plankton ecology, natural radionuclide tracers, carbon cycle Website

R. Lawrence Swanson – Stony Brook University – lswanson@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

John Tanacredi –  Dowling College – tanacrej@dowling.edu

Charles Joseph Vorosmarty – City College of New York – vorosmarty@ccny.cuny.edu

John Waldman – Queens College, Biology Department – john.waldman@qc.cuny.edu
Expertise: Fish biology, aquatic ecology, historical ecology

Isaac Wirgin – NYU School of Medicine – isaac.wirgin@nyumc.org
Expertise: Population genetics of fishes, ecotoxicology, stock identification, genetic susceptibility to disease

William M. Wise – Stony Brook University – wwise@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Expertise: Living marine resources & living marine resources management; marine policy; aquaculture; marine education

Anna Yeung-Cheung – Manhattanville College – Cheunga@mville.edu

Chester B. Zarnoch – Baruch College – chester.zarnoch@baruch.cuny.edu
Expertise: Shellfish biology, marine ecology, aquaculture  Website  Website

Jay Zimmerman – St. John’s University – zimmermj@stjohns.edu

Skip to toolbar